Division of Community and International Networking
Explore the World Programme
Collaboration Partners
Endowed Chairs
Photo Gallery
Staff Directory
Endowed Chairs

The University is committed to promoting research and scholastic development in diverse fields and has initiated the establishment of endowed chairs in 2009. This initiative has received good support from individuals, corporates, and foundations through the generous provision of endowments for the establishment of professorial chairs.



Since 2009, nine chairs have been established and the active chairs as of today are four. This has enabled the appointment of professors to develop and achieve excellence in research, development, education, and training in the respective fields of specialisation. Listed below are the endowed chairs and professors of the University.




Endowed Chair




The Star Foundation Professor of Creative Industries


Prof. Dr. William Ray Langenbach




 SHL Professor of Construction Management


open for application



Brunsfield Professor of Civil Engineering


open for application


Tan Sri Dato’ Philip Kuok Hock Khee Professor of Agricultural Science

Professor Dr Minoru Murata
Department of Agricultural and Food Science, Faculty of Science



For information about establishing an endowed chair, please contact Dr. Lai Soon Onn, the Director of Division of Community and International Networking at 603 9086 0288 Extension: 385 or email laiso@utar.edu.my